Monday, 20 October 2008

UFC 89 Results and Bonuses

UFC 89 went off on Saturday without a hitch, and included some very exciting fights.
Here are the results for the card:

Michael Bisping defeated Chris Leben via Unanimous Decision
Keith Jardine defeated Brandon Vera via Split Decision
Luiz Cane defeated Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou via TKO (Strikes) in Round 2
Chris Lytle defeated Paul Taylor via Split Decision
Marcus Davis defeated Paul Kelly via Rear Naked Choke in Round 2
Dan Hardy defeated Akihiro Gono via Split Decision
Shane Carwin defeated Neil Wain via TKO (strikes) in Round 1
David Bielkheden defeated Jess Liaudin via Unanimous Decision
Terry Etim defeated Sam Stout via Unanimous Decision
Jim Miller def. David Baron via Rear Naked Choke in Round 3
Per Eklund def. Sammy Schiavo via Rear Naked Choke in Round 3

Here are the bonuses:
There is some confusion about the Submission of the night bonus, which may have gone to Jim Miller, or may have gone to Marcus Davis. Miller was announced on the official broadcast as gaining the honor, but there have been reports of Davis being awarded it instead. We will clarify this as soon as we can.

The knock out of the night went to Luiz Arthur Cane for his second round TKO of Rameau Thierry Sokodjou.

Fight of the night honors were awarded to Chris Lytle and Paul Taylor, who fought to a split decision in a very exciting slug fest, with Lylte being awarded the win. Both fighters recieved the bonus for this honor.

All bonuses were worth $40,000.

No comments: